Home >> China Guides >> Beijing >> Attractions >> Imperial College

Imperial College

 
Hours & Admission Price Peak Season
Jan.-Dec.
08:30-17:00
30
Low Season
Jan.-Dec.
08:30-17
30
Address & Phone Guozijian (Chengxian) Street in Beijing Transportation Take Subway Line 2 or 5 and get off at Yonghegong Station. Walk out from Exit C and walk south for about 300 meters, you’ll find the Guozijian Street. Imperial  Notes CNY 30 (including the ticket for Confucius Temple)
Being the highest institute of learning in China's ancient educational system, Imperial College (Guozijian in Chinese) was frequently visited by emperors who read Confucian classics to thousands of students.

Located at the Guozijian (Chengxian) Street in Beijing and near the Confucius Temple, Imperial College (Imperial Academy) built in 1306 is the highest institute of learning in China's ancient educational system. In Yuan (1271-1368), Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties, it served as the national central institute of learning as well as the supreme administrative headquarters for the organization of education. Emperors frequently visited the place to read Confucian classics to thousands of students.

History

According to traditional Chinese regulations, Imperial College should be built on the right of Confucius Temple. Since Sui Dynasty (581-618), Imperial College had been the highest institute of learning and each dynasty had an imperial College in its capital. The Imperial College in Beijing was initially built in 1306 and served as the national central institute of learning and the supreme administrative headquarters for the organization of education in Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties.

The administrative officials of Imperial College were called Jijiu while the students who studied at the Guozijian were called "Jiansheng". Confucian classics were the main classes they learned. Students were enrolled in three ways. Some of them were selected from those who had passed the imperial examination. Some were foreign students from ancient Korea, Thailand, Vietnam and Russia. Others were nominal ones who donated enough money and bought the name of Jiansheng.

From 1949 to 2003, the place served as Capital Library. Today, it remains an important heritage site in China which opens to the public for visit. Many tourists choose to visit the Imperial College along with the neighboring Confucius Temple.

Visiting Guide

The whole complex of Imperial College faces south and along the central axis are the Jixian Gate, the Glazed Archway, Biyong Hall, Yilun Hall and Jingyi Pavilion. On its east and west sides are the six halls (Liutang in Chinese) and palaces in the traditional symmetrical layout.

Jixian Gate is the front door of Imperial College. Two well pavilions stand in the courtyard behind the gate. Originally, there was a door in the east leading to the Confucius Temple. However, it has been closed now. Inside the gate is the imposing Glazed Archway with gorgeous paintings. This archway is the only memorial archway built for education in China.

Biyong Hall, the central building within the complex, was the place where the emperors traditionally gave a lecture each year. Standing on a high square platform, it is a double-eaved square building surrounded by a circular moat. The layout indicates the heaven is round while earth is square. The hall has doors on each four sides and connected with the courtyards by delicate bridges. Every emperor would come here to have a lecture after they took the throne. On the left and right sides of Biyong Hall are six halls with 33 rooms serving as the classrooms of the students.

Yilun Hall north of Biyong Hall was called Chongwen Pavilion in Yuan Dynasty. It severed as the place where the emperors gave a lecture before Biyong Hall was built. Today, it is transformed to a library. On the east and west sides of the hall are offices for the officials who were in charge of documents, discipline, books and education respectively.

Jingyi Pavilion behind the Yilun Hall is in the third courtyard of Imperial College. Offices for Jijiu (president of the college) and Siye (vice-president of the college) are located at the courtyard. There are also seven stele inscribed with the imperial edict.

Along the lane between Imperial College and Confucius Temple, visitors can find 189 steles with the inscription of the Thirteen Classics of Confucius. These steles date back to 1726 in Qing Dynasty.